Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia February 9 – 12, 2017

“Malaysia truly Asia” Yes truly it is…

Historical building of Sultan Abdul Samad.

Just left Manila around 8:45pm of February 9, 2017 and arrived in KLIA Terminal 2 at around 12:10mn of February 10, 2017 via Cebu Pacific airlines. Upon checking in Tune Hotel in Chow Kit, I just slept for few hours and be ready for total adventure.
Day 1, February 10, 2017

I visited the Perdana Botanical Gardens, and the admission is free and there’s a lot of trail to enjoy inside the garden. You will see the different ornamental plants, herbs, orchids and lot of trees and flowers. There’s an aviary inside the botanical garden too. Don’t forget to bring insect repellent, hat and sunblocks because it’s too hot and all you gonna do is walk and walk and walk. I haven’t gone around all the trails because I still have a lot on my list. 

Lake Gardens, Kuala Lumpur.

After the Perdana Botanical my next stop should be the Islamic Arts Museum and unfortunately I wasn’t able to get there because it’s prayer day of the Muslim. I just straightly headed to Masjid Jamek to see where the Panggung Bandaraya located is, so I would know where I go for tomorrow seeings. Upon arriving in Masjid Jamek I had a little walk around and have my lunch break for a while. Too bad that my headache strikes and as much I wanted to stroll more but I could not go on so I have to go back to the hotel and have a little time to nap. This is really my enemy when I go for a travel when you’re having a bad headache you cannot enjoy your me time and the places where you are in now. 

I wish that 7:00pm in Manila would be like this.

So there, had my nap time and I ready to go again. When I saw the time is 7:00pm I think sleep so much time and I missed something, but when I check and see outside, 7:00pm in Kuala Lumpur is still bright and there’s no sign of twiglight yet. I was pretty amazed because in the Philippines when it’s 7:00pm it’s already dark. So what I do is I dress up quickly and I headed straight to Bukit Bintang via MRT. In Bukit Bintang you will see all the posh mall like Lot 10, Fahrenheit88, Pavillion KL, and more. I love the vibes and lights in Bukit Bintang as you will be on hyped for a night. There’s a lot of branded outlets store that you can go for shopping! Hahaha and me, I bought some cheap doll shoes but comfy. I have to hold myself first, as I am not here to go for shopping. Hahaha.

Get hyped in Bukit Bintang vibes.

Then I headed up to KLCC Suria to see the famous Petronas Twin Towers. First, I have my dinner in Baba Nyonya, I have tried there famous Namsi Lemak which this one is on my list of food to try in Kuala Lumpur. I loved the taste and smell of Namsi Lemak it is a rice with coconut milk that really teasing your nose and your mouth that you couldn’t refuses to eat more and plus it’s partnered with the roasted chicken, nuts, cucumber and small dried fish it’s called Dilis in Philippines the super small dried fish. I have tried their famous Teh Tarik milktea since I am a fan of milktea then I should really need to try this one. Too bad that this tea keep me awake all night! I really wanna sleep but my heart is really pounding so fast, perhaps because of the caffeine content of Teh Tarik.

Super yummy Namsi Lemak and Teh Tarik milktea in Baba Nyonya Restaurant at KLCC Suria.

After having a good and tasteful dinner I headed to the famous Twin Towers. Good thing that I got a tip from a taxicab driver that I should go to Petronas Towers during the night time, because on morning it is too dull and nothing special unlike when you see it at night it is full of lights and alive! There are really a lot of people outside the Twin Tower taking selfies and photos of beautiful tower. I’m so amazed and thankful to see this famous tower and everything is surreal. Then I met these two siblings selling their fisheye view lens to capture more and the whole of Petronas Towers. Actually I really dont wanna buy but when I know the their mom is Pinay, then I give a little help and bought it even it is not on my budget. Taking photos when you’re alone is hard, even you like to have a whole body shot with the Twin Towers is you can’t do. Thanks to them they capture my best moment with the Twin Towers. They also help me how to go back to the hotel, I have learn from them how to take the connecting train travels and now I can explore more via train and not by taxi. I came to see some Filipinos along the way and they are from Cebu having their Singapore – Malaysia Trip, it’s really good when you see some Kabayan along the way and exchanging hi, hellos and sweet smiles. 
When you’re in Kuala Lumpur it is really best to take the train ride than in taxi, you will save a lot of money by using train transportation. Don’t worry at first it’s okay if you have different twist and turn, it’s okay to have a mistake and later you will learn than trying something you fool yourself that you know even you really didn’t know just to satisfy the expectations of others. 

Famous Petronas Twin Tower.

Day 2, February 11, 2017

Good morning sunshine! I have my breakfast to the famous Oldtown White Coffee House and headed to Berryl’s Chocolate Factory to buy some goodies. My plan is to go in the actual factory but since it is close I just go to their store in Sungwei Plaza. Visiting Kuala Lumpur is not complete if you haven’t tried their chocolate goodies. Well Berryl’s didn’t disappoint my tastebuds and all the chocolate products are mouth watering and melting. Hehehe. I have visited Bukit Bintang again for second time since I am already in Sungwei Plaza.

Caffeine loading is always my favorite part everyday.
Everyone’s favorite Oldtown Cafe.

After chocolate shopping I headed to the Pasar Seni station where the China Town, Central Market and Kasturi Walk is there. Another connecting train station travel and I love it. When I arrived in Pasar Seni station I had a little feeling of lost kid inside beacuse I really don’t know where I am going. I just follow the two ladies and I ask them if they are Pinay, my bad and I’m sorry I have mistaken, they are Malays and they taught me where is the Sri Mahamariamman Temple and it is the oldest Hindu temple in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Founded in 1873, it is situated at edge of Chinatown in Jalan Bandar (formerly High Street). It’s is my first time to go inside the Hindu temple and had a chance to see how they worship their Gods. Had chance to see also the Chinese Guandi temple but I didn’t go inside as they do some prayers and rituals. I just walk along the China town and see some things that I could bought for the friends and love ones. I passed the Katasuri walk and heads to Central Market the oldest market in history of Kuala Lumpur Malaysia, you will see some Batik clothes for sales and other souvenirs inside. Just as tip guys it’s more cheap inside the Central Market than China Town. As usual you have to do the bargaining and keep on looking and walking, just don’t forget your belongings to get out of your sight, still you really have to be careful and double your awareness. Since I really need to squeeze this day I have to go back to Maskjid Jamek as I shouldn’t have missed one of the highlights of this trip.

Sri Mahamariamman Temple, the oldest Hindu temple in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

After having a quick lunch I head straight to Panggung Bandaraya Theater where the Mud Our Story of Kuala Lumpur held on. It is the longest running musical show in Malaysia that you should watch for, and shows run about one hour? This is all about Malaysia’s cultural history how they fight and be strong, how they fall and stand again despite of the calamities and war they gone through. I’m really happy that I could have a chance to see this theatrical show and it is definitely worth recommending. All the reviews in tripadvisor really meet my expectations. Since I am really fond of musical my hearts really skips a bit how happy I am to see this show. This is really a plus 5 stars and I am hoping too also when you get able to visit Kuala Lumpur please include this on you’re list, don’t worry it’s English so everyone can understand especially different tourist who speak English.

Definitely worth recommending. 👍👍👍
Energetic and lovely cast of MUD Our Story Of Kuala Lumpur.
One of the best highlights in this KL Trip.

After the musical, I just had a little walk in Dataran Merdeka KL, where their flag of independence located, had a chance to see the National Batik Musem, Historical building of Sultan Abdul Samad and National Arts gallery. I have tried to go also in the KL tower but unfortunately I just saw it from afar, I just got lost and just headed back to the hotel instead as my feet are really hurting so bad that I really need to rest it first. After having a good rest the last food on my list is the famous indian food the roti cannai, I have done some research where I could eat the best roti cannai. There you go, I saw this Valentine best roti cannai, it was strange and I didn’t realized that it is out of the KL City. Roti Cannai is good, I’m just not a fan of Indian food but at least I have tried what is on my list. What I do is eat in a hurry as I shouldn’t be there for long because i feel so strange with the place and all the car passing by is either personal car or trucks, there are some taxis but they couldn’t notice you waving them beacuse they are driving so fast. Good thing there’s two Malaysian childhood sweetheart who help me to book an uber, whoa thanks to God! I’m so thankful that these two had their dinner in Valentines because I really don’t know how to go back and I’m starting to got panicked.

Valentine Best Roti Cannai Restaurant.
Roti Cannai.

I’m praying also that my money should be exact on kilometer rate fare as I am out of RM already and I need to exchange some peso when I got back to KLCC Suria, and it’s good that my money was exact to how much should I pay to the uber driver and thanks to God again. Lesson learned don’t go on the place especially when you’re running out of money also don’t go during night time in strange location when you’re alone. True that world is full of strangers and you have to be careful.
Day 3, February 11, 2017 last day in Kuala Lumpur 

This is a half day tour in famous Batu Caves, Hindu Temple. This time I am with different tourists nationalities. Our first stop is the Royal Selangor Pewter the largest pewter factory in the world where we see how’s the work process from raw to finished product. Had a chance to see the oldest melon teapot and the largest can mug. Then our next stop was the Batik silk printing where I had a chance to witness the actual Batik Painting pretty amazing that they use wax to draw. Batik is a technique of wax-resist dyeing applied to whole cloth, or cloth made using this technique. Batik is made either by drawing dots and lines of the resist with a spouted tool called a canting. Since this is just a half day tour we really need to squeeze our time. 

Batik wax resist dyeing.
Graceful movement of fingers on how to paint in Batik.

Upon arriving in Batu Caves there are alot of people due to some ritual festivities happening too bad that we only have one hour to go up and down the hill. Since the time is very short I didn’t give a try to go uphill due to lot of people and I am afraid that I could be left by our tourist guide, also too bad that this headache strikes again, urgh one of the most enemy when I am travelling, so what I do is just taking some photos of the famous and world’s tallest statue of Murugan, a Hindu deity standing at 140 feet height! Maybe some time when I go back I will go uphill and enjoy the view what is up there waiting. This is something I should look forward to go back in Kuala Lumpur I promised!

World’s tallest statue of Murugan, Hindu deity and it is located outside Batu Caves.
Look at those people going uphill in Batu Caves.

After having another quick lunch, heading back to the hotel it’s good timing that taxi is waiting for me and we’ll heading back to the KLIA terminal 2 airport.
I have learned a lot from this trip that I should be proud of to tell everyone my story in this KL trip.

In this journey, I really learn more things about myself, how to trust and not to trust, how to explore, train station learnings, how to conquer my fear and how to go out of my comfort zone and how to go on and where the way will you go and what is waiting there. I’m so proud of myself that I could do the solo travel and to know the people of Malaysia and to embrace their culture. I’m also thankful for this travel beacuse I learn a lot about myself and people around me. Just remember that you have to be more extra careful okay?!
“The world is full of strangers, and you’ll just have to go with the flow and know how to blend with them”

xoxo,

@gaze1023

Leave a Reply

